9 Pregnancy blessings

Baby booties

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” -1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Pregnancy sucks. If I stand, I cramp and hurt. If I sit, I get contractions. Kid’s are worth it but, man, if they weren’t so cute it would be iffy. This time around is much harder than last. At least harder than I remember. A month ago I was up to 30 contractions a day for a while (not the painless Braxton hicks people describe), then there pre-term labor drama, and currently I am settled on general I-hate-my-bodydiscomfort.

So much with pregnancy is focused on the final miracle- the baby. In the beginning and in the end, you are knocked over with how amazing God is that he made it so our bodies can actually create and grow a human being. That is nothing to sneeze at, but there is the middle part of being pregnant…where people, or at least I, loose the awe of the miracle and focus on the negative. It’s especially hard to see the small blessings in the day-to-day aches and pains.
If anyone else was complaining about their life I’d tell them what I always do: look for the small blessings, because that’s where God seems to most show himself in our day-to-day lives. I believe that we need to recognize the smallest blessings constantly, to really see God’s role in our life. It occurred to me that I need to practice what I preach, so here is…
9 “Small” Blessings of Being Pregnant

1. You discover what you really need…off the floor. Our day-to-day lives has a lot of clutter of material items and things you think you need to do. Every once and a while it’s good to detox and step back to find out what you really need. Once your stomach turns into a beach ball, bending over to pick something up turns into a workout. There becomes more and more of a possibility that you may not get back up, once you get down. So you are forced to ask yourself time and time again: is it worth it? That small toy your kid left in the corner, is it really worth picking up? Maybe not. Cleaning baseboards are no longer a priority. And some days, when your favorite pair of sunglasses fall on the street they just may be left there because you just don’t like them THAT much.

2. People will give you the comfiest seat. Our adult Sunday school room has couches, but only one seat on the couch actually is comfortable for me now that I am the size of a cruiseliner. Being able to get comfortable has a huge relationship to whether or not I pay attention to whoever is speaking, so when I can, it’s close to the best thing ever. There are very nice people at my church, or even just strangers in public, who will go out of their way to make sure that I am in a seat that is most comfortable for me. I love these people. These are the people that are going to heaven.

3. Chairs and the ability to put pants on while sitting down. Daily I thank God for the ability to sit down. And when I sit, I can put on pants! Because of a pinched nerve and some other stuff, lifting my leg above a couple of inches while standing up is very hard, and very painful. Typically after putting on pants the conventional way I need to take some Tylenol and sit down for a hour to recover. But with the availability of chairs (or bed), I can sit, put on pants, and go about my day. It’s glorious.

4. People give you fuzzy blankets for the baby. But the fun part now is that the baby doesn’t need them yet…so if you want to cuddle up in a particularly soft blanket during a hard contraction it’s all yours. No one needs to know or judge you, get cozy with that baby blanket or stuffed animal, you deserve it!

5. Foot rubs. I don’t think I need to explain this one. Foot rubs are always one of God’s great blessings.

6. The really nice nurses and doctors you meet.  I have met some of the most fantastic people while being pregnant. One of my consistent small blessings is the people God randomly puts in my life, even if only for 10 minutes. I am exceedingly thankful for these people. This has not stopped while pregnant. Not everyone is perfect but sometimes you come across someone who will say something encouraging or give me a smile. They do something that may seem small but sometimes it’s those small acts that end up making a huge difference in my mood, comfort, and health.

7. When you have a food craving, and actually having whatever it is available! With random cravings you never can know if you are going to have it, or if its some random thing that you have to drive halfway across town for and spend half a fortune on.

 
8.  The “fun” vivid dreams. When your pregnant along with your hormones, your dreams go a little crazy. They get really, really, really vivid. The good ones and the bad…I especially appreciate the good vivid dreams, if you catch my drift. Just a little added bonus to my night.

9. Health insurance!! Okay, this is no small blessing but as I took another treck to L&D while writing this post, I was reminded of how lucky I am to have health insurance. I can’t imagine going through the “what is going on with my body” paranoia without regular doctors appointments, advice nurse lines, and a labor and delivery staff who is happy to have you come in at all hours of the day or night to get checked “just in case.”

Leave a Reply

