My child has cancer.

KEEPCALM

Those words still sound weird. It sounds fake. Like when you say “the sky is purple” with a straight face…you can say it, you know what it means, but it’s almost absurd that it could never be real. My 8-week old can’t have cancer. Chemo is for adults…even older kids…not my newborn.

But here I am, in a hospital room, after his second round of chemo. CHEMO. Ya know, the scary word you hear along side a photo of a bald woman who looks like she is wasting away she is so sick— chemo.

There are times I have accepted that he has cancer, and I am able to look at the positives of his treatment and our situation. But there are still moments where this just can’t be real. Where I look up, and it feels like a dream and that I am very ready to wake up from.

But well-adjusted or freaking out, life is still moving forward. It’s hard to comprehend when something like this changes everything how the rest of the world goes on as normal. It does though and I am thankful. People around me living their lives, us having to go through the routine for my other child, and the fact that the world really hasn’t ended, gives me hope that one day our world will be back to normal again.

4 thoughts on “My child has cancer.

  1. It’s one of those ways of the internet that stumbled me across this post. Truly, I am sorry that your son has cancer. Truly, normal, as you knew it, will never exist in your life again. You will have lots of “new normals”, but the old one is gone forever. (I haven’t read thru the rest of your blog to see how he is doing, hopefully he is doing wonderfully.) We heard “your son has cancer” in 2005, he stopped having it in 2007. Normal is gone, forever. I’m sorry.

  2. Hi Jen,
    Found your blog thru my sister, who was reading your “20 Signs You Went To Catholic School” blog. My daughter was diagnosed with leukemia (ALL) at age 4. She has been out of treatment since she was 7, and has been cancer free since (she is 25 now). Being cancer free has left her with scars from treatment – emotional and physical – that we are still working on. Our “normal” certainly isn’t the same as someone else’s, but it wouldn’t be anyway. Everyone has something, you know?
    Anyway, just wanted to let you know I am praying for you, your son, and your family.
    God’s blessings to you!
    Sue

Leave a Reply

