Marriage is..

A couple months ago, while driving to a wedding my husband and I were discussing marriage. The good, bad, and morning breath of it all.  We concluded (jokingly) that pre-marital counseling needs to be a two song process.

Once people get past the honeymoon-never-leave-the-bedroom stage, then the reality of marriage sinks in.

Marriage is really True Love by Pink.

The lyric “At the same time, I wanna hug you / I wanna wrap my hands around your neck” pretty much says it all.  But there is good news! This song, is how you SURVIVE marriage.

Dancing in the Minefields by Andrew Peterson

I am tempted to re-post the entire song  but I especially appreciate these lyrics:

“”I do” are the two most famous last words
The beginning of the end
But to lose your life for another I’ve heard
Is a good place to begin…

…So when I lose my way, find me
When I loose love’s chains, bind me
At the end of all my faith, till the end of all my days
When I forget my name, remind me.”

So there ya go. Marriage in two songs. I am sure I have it all figured out. Ha!

Leave a Reply

