Sunday Reading: 4 Articles About Parenting & Marriage

Book

Some interesting articles I have read lately…

How To Raise A Child Who Isn’t Whiny And Annoying

“I’m raising children in a privileged world. We have food. Money to save for an education. At 2, my daughter has a room that is bigger than any room I’ve ever occupied in my life. We can afford the fancy Easter dress. When we have a bad day, we can afford to get a special treat. I’m glad I’m raising a child in this environment. In fact, my husband and I waited to have kids just so we could do things like take vacations to Florida. But now that we are here, I wonder if we really are doing things the right way…”

6 Toxic Relationship Habits Most People Think Are Normal

“But part of the problem is that many unhealthy relationship habits are baked into our culture. We worship romantic love — you know, that dizzying and irrational romantic love that somehow finds breaking china plates on the wall in a fit of tears somewhat endearing — and scoff at practicality or unconventional sexualities. Men and women are raised to objectify each other and to objectify the relationships they’re in. Thus our partners are often seen as assets rather than someone to share mutual emotional support.”

***EVERY SINGLE POINT IN THIS ARTICLE IS VALID AND SHOULD BE READ BY EVERY LIVING HUMAN BEING ON EARTH***

What I Want You To Know…Marriage Troubles

“But tonight, I wish I could be as Sue was. Forgive my husband and move on. I could have, if he had changed. If he had grown up. If he had tried. But he just kept going as if nothing changed. So I did. I changed…..”

This Is My Body, Scared and Scarred

“When I see myself in the mirror now, I think, almost always, “This is my body, broken for you, kids.” Which isn’t sacrilegious. Or self-deprecating. Or disdainful. Or sad. Not now. Not anymore. No. Because the broken body points always toward life. Always toward triumph. Always toward resurrection. It just took me a while to find the sacred in the scars.”

What articles or posts caught your attention this week?

Leave a Reply

