Lies That I Used To Believe: Life should happen one trauma at a time.

Lies

Lier Mc. Lierson! Somewhere in all of our brains is this little nugget if falseness. Mine too. When the car breaks down, the kids get sick, AND I unexpectedly get my lady time a week early, it’s shocking! Earth shattering! Why me????!  It’s crazy that everything has to happen at once.

Well, I am here to tell you this is not true! We have absolutely no reason to believe life/God/Thor/Whoever you believe in will give us one thing at a time. We have actually have every reason to believe the exact opposite.

Reason #1) Experience. Everyone, and I mean everyone, has been there. Where just everything piles up. Where it feels like everything happens at once. You know the week, where you stop answering your phone for fear of just One. More. Thing.

Reason #2) Jesus says so, just not in so many words. “In this world you will have trouble.” (-John 16:33B)  Do you really need to know more than that?

Even though I know this, this lie still gets to me. When more than one or two negative things happen to me at once I still feel indignant, still feel like there is some greater injustice being played against the natural order of things…. emphasis on order.

So there is that…

Leave a Reply

