The unexpected side of being a stay-at-home mom.

Me and Addie

I never wanted to be a stay-at-home mom. Why do that, when you could be a mom AND rule the world with your career?? You could do both, right? Well, in November of last year life pushed me into a corner where it was apparent that being a stay-at-home was the only real option for me at the moment.  So, here I am, and The Bad at Cleaning Blog was born.

This whole stay-at-home mom thing… It’s not easy. Not that I ever expected it to be. That’s why I never wanted to be one. Like the reason I never wanted to be a nurse, teacher, or physicist. It’s just not for me, it’s not in my wheelhouse.

It takes being focused on your child 24/7. It takes an ability to keep a child entertained, directly or in directly, for like 12 hours a day. It takes a miracle certain skill to have a toddler at home all day and manage to be able to make progress cleaning the house.You can go days, or even a week without talking to another adult in person, other than your husband. You have to be disciplined enough to mentally engage and challenge yourself, because no boss or project is going to be given to you to do it (but if you are like me you will miss is desperately).

In the end, it takes unheard of amounts of patience and self-discipline.

Neither of which I really have. But here I am.

There is something I never expected though. A little key, important thing that I missed in when considering this whole stay-at-home mom thing: I really, really, really like my kids.

Like they are two of my favorite people on this world to hang out with. Not just because they are cute and came from my body, but they are genuinely cool people. Even the five month old baby, his personality already blows me away.

I have so much fun with them.

My daughter is my joy. She makes me smile, super smart, uber loving to those who can break down that little shy wall, and she is super funny. Like super, duper, should be a meme on YouTube funny. When my girl is with my parents, I miss her. Not just the parental longing for my child missing, but also a whole missing a good friend sadness.

IMAG7981-1

IMAG7597-1

My boy is already teaching me about life, particularly strength. He is the happiest baby going through the worst stuff. If he can smile during his trials, I certainly have no room to complain. He is affectionate, caring, and loves people. I want people to meet my son, not just because he is adorable, but he has an amazing personality that everyone should know.

IMAG8045

IMAG7931-1

I knew I’d love my kids. I knew they would bring me a whole new joy. But I didn’t expect this. That I’d want to hang out with them just because they are cool.

They are just great.

So now, because of some weird life situation, I get to spend my day with two of my favorite people. They are my kids. I get to teach them, discipline them, protect them, watch them grow, and be their parent. But in that I also get to play with them, talk with them for hours on end, and hug the stuffing out of them. Every. Single. Day.

I have to say, it makes the challenges of being a stay-at-home mom much easier to want to take on.

It may seem crazy or a little dumb. But it is what it is. I am a recovering career addict whose world has been turned upside down, and I am learning all sorts of new shiny things. Like that I actually enjoy spending all my time with my kids.

2 thoughts on “The unexpected side of being a stay-at-home mom.

  1. Family bonding.. sure, its more that just an expression, its a way of life. But unless you truly experience it, you will never understand its great joys. Its all good!

    Michael

  2. My boy is 20 months old. Yesterday he peed on my back (don’t ask) and our bed. About halfway through his marathon pee session, he giggled.

    Last night, while I was taking out the trash, he put spaghetti on the dogs back…. Like all of his spaghetti… On our freshly washed, long-haired german shepherd/saint. He was cracking up and started howling when he saw me.

    I can so relate to this post. I didn’t expect to enjoy him this much. It just never occurred to me that I would like him, as a person, this much…. And he is a horrible little shit sometimes, and I miss my work friends (or having friends)and eating a hot lunch…. But I wouldn’t trade back

Leave a Reply

