Getting ready for Thursday

cropped chemo.jpg

This Thursday we find out if my son is cancer free or if we get a new treatment plan.

Cancer free means we wait a month, make sure nothing grows back, and then we get a remission plan complete with regular cancer checks, regular blood tests, and all sort of other regular tests to make sure the chemo didn’t mess anything up permanently.

A new treatment plan means…well, a new treatment plan. Whatever that may look like.

As I have blogged about before, I don’t want to get my hopes up. I don’t want to get my heart set on the cancer free diagnosis.

Well, I officially failed at that little goal.

My heart is set on celebrating a cancer free Christmas. I need a slap of perspective change..quickly…before Thursday.

I need to be okay where I am, no matter where I am. No matter my infant’s diagnosis I need to go into it Thursday, knowing it’s going to be fine. We just get a new plan. Simple as that.

Yeahhhhh, I am working on it. Not quite there yet.

I wrote a post a while back that I never posted, called Thank You Cancer. I revisited it when I realized that I need to get back to actively pursuing…not being a mess if things go a different way than I want.  It helps if you prepare your heart for it. To be clear, I don’t mean to prepare my heart for disappointment…that’s kind of the reverse effect of what you want. What I mean is preparing to truly being grounded and joyful no matter what life throws at you. I may cry, I may be sad, I may even say some cuss words, but in the end I want to accept whatever happens with as much dignity and grace as humanly possible.

Tomorrow’s post is about how I have found to do that…or at least what helps me. I had to break it into two different posts because it’s ridiculously long, so the second part will be posted on Wednesday.

Enjoy.

One thought on “Getting ready for Thursday

  1. Pingback: Thank you, Cancer (1/2) | Jennifer Armitage

Leave a Reply

